• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Sheldon

The newsagent on Barrows Lane corner of Garretts Green Lane was called Singletons. I went to Cockshut Hill infants and juniors until it converted to just seniors. Then went to Blakenhale and Sheldon Heath. Left 1964. Spent lots of time in The Dovecoats, Cabin, Ring o Bells etc.

There was a small line of shops in Brays road above the Barrows lane island. Shepherds (grocers), Singletons (newsagents) Betts (outdoor) and Bells (greengrocer). Just on the island Mr Jilks had a taxi service. The tall brick road island was the scene of many motor crashes in the winter fogs! I worked as a delivery boy at Shepherds (Mrs Bell was one of the assistants, and knew the families around there.

The talking of shops and Post Office has triggered something in my memory, was there an incident at the Post Office on Bilton Grange Road? My thoughts are it was an armed robbery around the late 70's early 80's or was it the Off Licence?

Was it the Ring o Bells that burnt down? Singletons was my favorite many Cadborys choc bars! John Crump Oldbrit Parker.Co USA

The Post Office Bilton Grange Road went many moons ago, and sadly The Ring O Bells is derelict (so sad it was a beautiful building with loads of character). Cockshut Hill School has several new buildings still scattered over the site with around 1600 pupils all entering and leaving the school via Cockshut Hill, they won't open Billingsley Road Entrance to ease congestion as they would need someone to open and lock the gates!! What a price for safety!