• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Dares Brewery

morris

master brummie
I remember a Dares brewery about 50 years ago. i dont remember exact location but it was somewhere near birmingham town centre. They made a lovely bitter. i remember going there when i was an electrical contracting apprentice.
reg

I remember a Dares brewery about 50 years ago. i dont remember exact location but it was somewhere near birmingham town centre. They made a lovely bitter. i remember going there when i was an electrical contracting apprentice.
reg

I think it was in the Highgate area, Belgrave Road way ?

Dare's was at 200-208 Belgrave road, about in the middle between Frank St and Gooch St on the north side
mike

hI REGGIE
I HATE TO DISAGREE WITH YOU ON THE SUBJECT OF THERE BITTER,
WHEN I FIRST TRIED IT I THOUGHT IT WAS VINAGAR, BUT SAYING THAT IT WAS THE VERY FIRST TIME I TRIED IT WAS IN THE NAFFIE AT THE LICHFIELD BARRACKS
I WAS AN ORIGINAL ANSELLS MAN [ BITTER DRINKER [ RIGHT UP UNTIL THEY CLOSED THE BREWERY DOWN AT ASTON CROSS. AND THE GOOD BREWING MEN THAT WORKED THERE WAS BRILLIANT
THEY NEW HOW TO MAKE IT THE MEN LEFT AND FORMED A COALITITION AND STARTED UP
AT ASTON MANNOR BREWERS DOWN SANDY LANE ASTON FOR A GUY WHOM WAS RELATED TO OLD DOUG ELLISS , BUT BY THEN I GOT CONVERTED TO THE GREAT M.B BREWERS
BUT GETTING BACK TO DARED=S I NEVER RELATED TO IT PERHAPS THEY WAS USING SOME DIFFERENT HOPS BUT THEY NEVER REALLY LAST LONG IN THE GAME
BEST WISHES ASTONIAN ;;;;

reg

Hi Reg,

There used to be a Dare's pub on the right hand side of
Broad Street, almost opposite what was then the College
of Commerce, now I believe the Registry Office.

Kind regards

Dave

Re: dares brewery