• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team
I worked as a temp at Averys in Digbeth. They were changing the prices of the maintenance of the scales and everyone who had a set of their scales had to have a card advising them. I spent many weeks there just typing addresses on a card, it was boring, but I could type Birmingham very fast by the end of it. Thank god for mail merge now.

There was no intention to take anything away from the Avery site at all. I just corrected the assumption that they had started there.

Thomas Avery and his brother inherited a failing weighing machine business that was situated in Heath Mill Lane, Deritend. It was only when, through sheer hard work, they turned the business round and made it the remarkable success it eventually was. Smethwick played a very large part, as has been previously mentioned, but almost all the businesses first cited did not start out in Smethwick. I am an avid Matthew Boulton fan, have been for over twenty years, and am not trying to put anyone or any place down, least of all Matthew Boulton. If you read further postings, you will see that.

We (or more truthfully my husband) has a friend, also living in Walsall, who was an Avery apprentice from about 1962/3.

Hi Colin