• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team
  • HI folks the server that hosts the site completely died including the Hdd's and backups.
    Luckily i create an offsite backup once a week! this has now been restored so we have lost a few days posts.
    im still fixing things at the moment so bear with me and im still working on all images 90% are fine the others im working on now
    we are now using a backup solution

Ephraim phillips ltd

Peter Hunt

knowlegable brummie
I was an apprentice in the 60's at Ephraim Phillips Ltd in Bissell Street. It would be great to contact fellow work mates.
I also have many old ledgers which belonged to the founder Ephraim Phillips dating back to the 1880's, which I found in a rubbish bin when the company was closing down.

Peter

Hello Peter, welcome to the site :). Your ledgers sound very interesting - it's amazing what history gets put in the bin. I am not familiar with this company :rolleyes: perhaps you could give us a bit of history on it.
Good luck with your search for your old work mates.
Polly

As per Pollypops suggestion, please find below brief history of Ephraim Phillips Ltd.

Ephraim Phillips started work in the screw trade at the age of eight. In his early teens, without significant capital, he began to put his experience to use working from a small attic. In just three year he was able to rent part of a factory which gave him more space in which to pursue his ideas. This was in 1874. In 1880 Ephraim Phillips brought a small shop in Bissell Street. By the time of his death in 1910, at the age of 59, he was employing 125 people.