• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team
  • HI folks the server that hosts the site completely died including the Hdd's and backups.
    Luckily i create an offsite backup once a week! this has now been restored so we have lost a few days posts.
    im still fixing things at the moment so bear with me and im still working on all images 90% are fine the others im working on now
    we are now using a backup solution

GEC WITTON WORKS

Hi I am new. Just to say that I was an apprentice at the GEC between 1953 and 1959 and I was actually working in The Big Shop in the next bay when that incidence occurred. There was almighty bang and everyone rushed round to see what had happened. I was working with George Ellis,Charlie Davies and Jack Averill. These names may be of some interest to you. This was before the GEC was taken over by Parsons. I also worked in The Turbo Shop with Eric Golder.
Eddie

Hi Eddie,Welcome to the G.E.C. thread. I served my time in the 60's and worked with all the chaps that you mentioned, in the big shop my favorite was Ronnie Mason but I ended up in the New Turbo which I enjoyed very much. Have just found an old photo taken in the Apprentice Training School, will try to post it some time.