• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

ZODIAC TOYS in Chelmsley Wood

ziksby

Old Malvernian
Anyone remember this toyshop?
It was one of the first shops to open on the Chelmsley Wood shopping centre in the early 1970s. It was managed by Audrey Dee from its first day until the chain folded in 1989.
I was an area manager for Zodiac, later operations director for 85 UK branches.
We never managed to find a Birmingham city centre location, but elsewhere in the Midlands traded successfully in Wolverhampton, Darlaston, Stourbridge, Kidderminster, Redditch, Tamworth and Telford.
I have a website dedicated to Zodiac here .....
https://www.zodiactoys.webs.com

My husband witnessed a break in at Zodiac in Chelmsley in the 80s,he rushed round to the police station and the theives were caught.

Last edited:
We as a family remember Zodiac toys.
our first visit was when we lived in chelmsley wood,we lived
in moorend avenue in cheshunt house opp the shops,also chelmsley rd.
then when we moved to redditch,we had two small children, so job done they used to spend there pocket money there.
we were on the CB radio in redditch, and a lad we used to chat with,s wife was the manageress in the redditch shop for a time.
happy days. regards dereklcg.

ziksby,
Yes, I remember the Zodiac toyshop on Chelmsley wood shopping centre very well. I spent quite a time in there as a child.
Nice that it hasn`t been totally forgotten.

copper.

Remember the one in Tamworth well, but not the Chelmsley one, didn't go there much and the one time we did Dad got stuck on the one way and vowed not to return lol
Sue