• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

WILLIAM H. MARSON, silversmith

D

derynf

I would love to find out whether a William Henry Marson was listed in the Kelly's around this date, please. In the 1901 census he is described as a silversmith by trade, living in Aston Manor (Ecclesiastical parish of Lozells St. Silas). Unfortunately, I don't have the road address, although I do know he was living at 188 Villa Street in 1915. I have, so far, been unable to find out whether he was in business for himself, or working for someone else. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Not sure, Colin. I have come across a Frederick Marson (later F. M "and Son") who I think ran a business in the Jeweller's Quarter, but don't know whether he's related. Wm H. was an only son, and his father was a baker, then towards the end of his life, a laundryman, so he wasn't continuing a family trade.

If he worked for himself he would have had a makers mark which would have been registered at the Assay Office ( I assume Birmingham as he was living there ) The office keep a record of all marks from day one.
Try their web site giving all info you have and they may be able to help.

I've been told in another thread that the Villa Street William lived in is just off Wills Street, not very far from St. Silas. The family may already have been living in Villa Street in 1901...his sons went to King Edward Grammar School which I believe is in Frederick Road. 188 Villa Street was known as "Belgrave Cottage," so would it have been a detached or semi-detached house, do you know?

Last edited by a moderator:
Villa St

Hi Derynf,:) Wendy quite right, Villa St is off the top end of Farm Street