• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Velocette factories

Tim, after a second look you are correct about that one being a Triumph.

hi my husband has passed your email to me. My father was service manager at James Motorcycles and was the last person there when the factory was taken over by Suzuki. I think that was 1967/68 as far as I can remember.

There were various Veloce works in Birmingham, that at York Road was the last and longest lived, to my knowledge there was not a Veloce/Velocette factory in Meriden. It is a name that does travel back to the early days of motorcycle manufacture in Birmingham
The original Veloce [Velocette] works were in York Road Hall Green.When I was an apprentice printer in the 1960's we did
a lot of printing for this company including various manuals for the range of motorcycles that were in production.
The Japanese motorcycles came on the scene and Velocette were a little slow to get their range to the market in time to compete. A last ditch attempt was a scooter type machine but it did not appeal to the buying public.I think it was in the early 1970's that production stopped.
A motorcycle enthusiast/businessman bought a lot of parts which had not been used including tyres /headlights/Miller speedo clusters and many other parts [and possibly the name Velocette Motorcycles]
He had already done something similar with Vincent/ Scott/ and Royal Enfield.
By the the mid 1970's the business was situated on the corner of Old Bromford Lane and Bromford Lane next to the former Facchino's cornett factory [later Salisbury Transmissions]