• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Prince research

teamoconnell

Brummie babby
Thomas Prince, born in 1828 in Shropshire, married Emma Taft in 1857 in Birmingham. In 1861 they lived at 59 Cumberland Terrace, then at 10 Cottage Place, Hope Street and Thomas worked as a plasterer. After his death in 1881, they moved to Charles Henry Street and Emma worked as a hawker, which I believe means she sold goods in the street? While I have a subscription for newspapers, the Prince surname is a challenging one to search as nearly all the returns are Prince Thomas, or Prince Charles :D

Are you looking for info on the Prince family? Were his parents John and Sarah, as that seems to be the only baptism I can see in Ludlow.

• Appreciate
Reactions: MWS
Yes - that is them! I have basic information from census records; however, as I live in the U.S., I was curious about the area/streets they lived.

Cumberland Terrace was off St Luke's Road (terrace in yellow) and St Luke's Church (marked with red dot) was at the end on the corner of Bristol Road. Just realised Hope Street runs parallel to St Luke's Road so is on the same map. Map from 1887
1701273380940.png

Link to map so you can enlarge it as you want. Cottage Place is marked.
The church existed until 2017 but the land was then sold and the church demolished.

Last edited:
  • Appreciate
Reactions: MWS