• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Cremin Mary Ellen 1945 Marston Green Nurse

Pat56

master brummie
Trying to find out about my, long deceased, mothers early life.

Name: Mary Ellen Cremin.
DOB: 24/03/1920, Ireland (Dunmanway, Cork or Macroom, Cork ).
Occupation: Nurse, 19th Canadian General Hospital, Marston Green (1943-1948 approx.).
Siblings: Sean, Michael and Daniel (Spon Lane, West Bromwich, deceased 1959).

Any information welcome.

Can anyone let me know if it is possible to track down where people lived in 1940's Birmingham. Sorry, but I'm a total genealogy novice

The only way might be a search of the online electoral rolls - ancestry has some. The paper versions in the library are only any good if you already know an address. When did she marry and what was her married name? The problem is if she was in a nurses home it might not have come under Birmingham. At the moment the only name I found was an Eileen Cremin in 1945 at St Joseph's Hostel (all women) Princip street but no Mary Ellen.

The only way might be a search of the online electoral rolls - ancestry has some. The paper versions in the library are only any good if you already know an address. When did she marry and what was her married name? The problem is if she was in a nurses home it might not have come under Birmingham. At the moment the only name I found was an Eileen Cremin in 1945 at St Joseph's Hostel (all women) Princip street but no Mary Ellen.

Once again, thank you for showing an interest in my post.
My mother married in West Bromwich in 1955, her married name was Powell.