• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Bishop Ryder Junior And Infant School

B

Bernard Myers

st. evenlucy
i attended bishop ryder school from 1956 to 1962 my first teacher was a lady named mrs bull the headmistress was mrs d . goodall deputy head was mr rawlins it was a lovely school and was sad to leave at age 11 when i started loxton street boys

regards bernie

Hi folks,
I am a newbie and this is my first post so please excuse any mistakes ,is there anyone out there who attended bishop ryder school in gem street or live in that area ie ryder st. lawrence st. sheep st. between 1956 and 1963 the head mistress was mrs goodall and deputy was mr rawlins the only teachers i remember are mrs bull and mr pullen. doe's anyone out there remember this school.

Kind regards Bernie

My late sister was a teacher there in the late 1950's. You may remember her, Mrs Brookes or her daughter Denise (born 1953) who would have been in the infant school? I know Denise was friends with an Angie Wheeler until about 1960. I remember the name Mrs Goodall too, but sorry, not any more.

I went to Bishop Ryder school in 1946 to 1952. still keep in touch with 2 of my old school friends from those days. We used to go to Kyrle Hall for our school dinners.

Hi thanks for your reply I do now remember mrs Brooke's she took class three she once handed out the foot of penny's a collection fund for our Christmas party she was a very nice lady . I also remember the wheelers but for some reason I remember her as Annette wheeler. Mrs Brooke's also took us to woodcock st baths for swimming lessons . Many thanks Bernie .