• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Balsall Heath Police

ellbrown

ell brown on Flickr
Some photos of Balsall Heath Police Station on Edward Road in Balsall Heath.

Built in 1869.

Hi ellbrown,

Thanks a lot. What memories these photos brought back of my times spent at Edward Road Police Station when I was a serving police officer. It looks as though it is now closed as are many others. It was a sub station really. It seems large, especially in the first photo, but that is because it was a singlemens quarters.

Old Boy

I seem to remember the yard to the right was something to do with the council (going back a few years), I think men who were on the dole, had to go and help with work round the neighbourhood.

It was known as Edward Rd Police Station, I never heard it called Balsall Heath Station. When I was born my mother was living just around the corner in Vincent street. The yard to the right of the station was in those days a Council public works depot. I got a very good look inside the station and even the cells one Sunday morning when about eight of us lads were returning from Moseley Rd baths when suddenly about six policemen ran out of the station and herded us all into the station.