• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Ansell

Taila

Brummie babby
Hi, I'm a newbie on here. My maiden name was Ansell, my father was Gilbert Ansell born in 1916 and he was born at The Old Crown Hotel ,50 Snow hill, birmingham which was run by his father George William Ansell. I've always been led to believe that I was distantly related to the Ansell family. My early childhood was spent in Hick Street, Balsall Heath, then Osler Street, Ladywood and finally until my marriage I lived in Poplar Road, Sparkhill. If anyone knows of the Ansell family it would be nice to hear from you. Many thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi Taila,
My son is an Ansell, and he is descended from the brother of Joseph Ansell, who started Ansells Brewery. Looking quickly at your ancestors, I don't think you are related to the brewery Ansells. Unless it was a long way back. The brewery Ansells originated from Rocester in Staffs, in the early 1700's and 1600's. It looks as if you are descended from John Ansell, born about 1775 in Little Haywood in Staffs. Little Haywood is not that far from Rocester, so you may be connected, if you go back far enough.

Hi again Taila,
I should have added this information. Although I need to check it, when I have more time. George William Ansell was born in Birmingham in 1872, son of John Ansell and Thirza. John Ansell was born in Birmingham in 1850, son of Richard Ansell and Sarah. Richard Ansell was born in 1820 in Haywood Staffs, son of Jane Ansell. Jane Ansell was born in Little Haywood Staffs in 1800, daughter of John Ansell, who was born about 1775 in Little Haywood Staffs.
Ann