• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team
  • HI folks the server that hosts the site completely died including the Hdd's and backups.
    Luckily i create an offsite backup once a week! this has now been restored so we have lost a few days posts.
    im still fixing things at the moment so bear with me and im still working on all images 90% are fine the others im working on now
    we are now using a backup solution

Co-op bakery

derek. it could have been him he would have been now in his late 50s early60s. he played in goal for us( adderley fc) other than that i have no more knowledge of him.
vic

Derek, the snooker hall and nearly all the shops and houses that were on that triangular piece of land opposite the bulls head (manor house) have been pulled down.

the only other co-op bakery was messenger road smethwick that i know of

I had three uncles work at Coop manor road all long service, i used to help my Uncle Jim on his round on Saturdays (Lea Village, the Glebe) around 1955/6.
Have a couple of pics of Coop Van with horse named Dennis dont know how to put them on here help welcomed. Alan.

what years were they there,im sure i remember arthur not to sure about jimmy and norman

Norman is 85 now Jimmy would have been 87 & Arthur is74 Norman & Arthur finished when the bakery closed Jimmy about 12 years before

Hi Maybell: I can just about remember the horse drawn bread vans. Anyone remember if they were green with the Co-op gold letters or maroon or both. I have a picture in my mind of them but not sure what the colour was.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hello vic,i,ll check it out when my mate comes back of his hols,