• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team
  • HI folks the server that hosts the site completely died including the Hdd's and backups.
    Luckily i create an offsite backup once a week! this has now been restored so we have lost a few days posts.
    im still fixing things at the moment so bear with me and im still working on all images 90% are fine the others im working on now
    we are now using a backup solution

malt shovel smith st hockley

Astoness

TRUE BRUMMIE MODERATOR
Staff member
hi folks would anyone have a pic of this pub please...im sure i had one but cant seem to locate it

many thanks

lyn

Lyn

I have no knowledge of this pub, but as Smith St was not a very big street I was wondering if this photo could in fact be the Malt Shovel as I wouldn't have thought there were many pubs in Smith St. This pub is tagged Smith Street Hockley c1912 but there is no name.

Attachments

• Hockley Smith St 1912.JPG
    Hockley Smith St 1912.JPG
    169.8 KB · Views: 39
phil snap i have just found that pic in my files....again no name to pub but im just wondering if we could narrow it down by having a map of smith st showing no 103 as that is the number i have been given for the malt shovel...if there is an entry to the left of the pub i would think that could solve it...
cant quite make out the landlords name above the door
thanks phil

lyn

Lyn

As far as I can make out 103 was next door to the school, how long ago was it a pub, because I went back to 1903 before I found it even listed as a beer retailer. I think the pub in the photo has more chance of being the Queens Head on the corner of Hockley Street.