• Welcome to this forum . We are a worldwide group with a common interest in Birmingham and its history. While here, please follow a few simple rules. We ask that you respect other members, thank those who have helped you and please keep your contributions on-topic with the thread.

We do hope you enjoy your visit. BHF Admin Team

Memories of a Birmingham Musician (Drummer)!

I was never a great fan of Don Ellis (although he was also a pretty good drummer).
His way out sounds, and odd time signature compositions, showed him to be a great musician/composer, and innovator. I seem to remember that he also played a four valve trumpet.

He was very much liked by a lot of musicians, but then, I am a drummer !!

Have to admit that I never listened to much by Gary McFarland, although he may be featured on some of my Getz/Brookmeyer/Mulligan LP's. Will have to check.

Eddie

Eddie,

I think both Ellis & McFarland died before they'd had a chance to mature and decide in which direction they wanted to go. In the interview I have seen with Gary, he made no secret of the fact that film music was the way he wanted to go. I can't speak for Don Ellis, I've never seen any interviews with him nor listened to his more recent albums - probably Dave A has.

Randy Newman's (Simon Smith & the Amazing Dancing Bear) output is now very much concentrated on film music and there are several others gone that way too.

My last drummer has a vast collection of jazz, but being a drummer, they all have to have a bass player and a drummer. Being an ex-keyboard/vibes player, I can spend hours listening to the Gary Burton/Chick Corea duet albums - no bass or drums - or to their solo albums. But being such great musicians, you don't notice the missing rhythm section.Or at least I don't! From the point of view of performing, I always preferred a full rhythm section, if only to have someone to bounce your ideas off.

Maurice